National Association of English Learner Program Administrators

NAELPA Leadership

Executive Board

NAELPA Executive Board members are elected for three-year terms beginning July 1 and ending June 30 three years later. Nine (9) Executive Board members are voted onto the board, which includes six (6) state directors into the officer positions and three (3) LEA members as Members-at-Large. There is a succession from Vice-President, to  President-Elect, to President. Those elected to other positions hold those positions for a period of three (3) years.


The Executive Board has six (6) officer positions. The officer positions are President, President-Elect, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and Membership Coordinator. The Executive Board also can have up to 5 Advisory Board members, including the Past-President, who automatically remains on the Executive Board as an Advisory Board member for one additional year.

Click here for more information about the NAELPA Advisory Members

Current Executive Board Members, serving during the 2019-2020 membership year:

Megan Alubicki Flick, President –                          Connecticut Department of Education

Marshall Foster, President-Elect –                        North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Kelly Alvarez, Vice President –                                  Michigan Department of Education                         

Nicole Leach, Secretary –                                            Indiana Department of Education

Chane Eplin, Treasurer –                                              Florida Department of Education

Tricia Kerr, Membership Coordinator –              Arkansas Department of Education

Dr. Pedro Ruiz, Member-at-Large –                      Irvington Public Schools, New Jersey

Suzanne Toohey, Member-at-Large –                  Oakland Schools, Michigan

Deborah Wilkes, Member-at-Large –                  Cumberland County Schools, North Carolina

Megan Cox, Past-President –                                   Colorado Department of Education

Dr. David Holbrook, Executive Director -         National Association of English Learner Program Administrators     

Judith O'Loughlin, Legislative Liaison –             California TESOL