National Association of English Learner Program Administrators

NAELPA's Advisory Members

The National Association for English Learner Program Administrators engages experts in the education of ELs to provide guidance, suggestions, and practical solutions to issues faced by NAELPA and by EL educators. Advisory Members may serve for three consecutive years and must take at least one year off before being able to serve as an advisory board member again. The current NAELPA Advisory Members are:

 Advisory Member Affiliation Currently Serving
Dr. Deborah ShortFounder and Director, Academic Language Research & Training 2022-2023, 2023-2024
 Dr. Nilda AguirreNABE Executive Director 2022-2023, 2023-2024
 Dr. Julie Sugarman Migration Policy Institute 2021-2022, 2022-2023, 2023-2024
Jesse Markow
 Independent Consultant
 2020-2021 , 2021-2022, 2022-2023
Kelly Alvarez - Past PresidentMichigan Department of Education 2023-2024
Previous Advisory MembersAffiliation Executive Board Years Served
 Jesse MarkowIndependent Consultant2020-2021, 2021-2022, 2022-2023
 Dr.  Kenji Hakuta Stanford University, CA 2021-2022
Dr.  Joel Gomez Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL) 2018-2019 / 2019-2020 / 2020-2021
Dr. David NietoNorthern Illinois  University2018-2019 /  2019-2020 / 2020-2021
 Carol Salva Siedlitz Education2018-2019 /  2019-2020 / 2020-2021
 Dr. Soyoung ParkStanford  University, CA 2018-2019